Three 'Leaks': 151 names uploaded on website to find their trace, SC told

Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) Friday expressed its inability to investigate and tax as many as 151 Pakistanis whose names appeared in the Panama Leaks, the Offshore Leaks and the Paradise Leaks. Supreme Court had formed a three-member committee headed by governor State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) to devise a mechanism in consultation with chairman FBR and federal finance secretary to recover undeclared wealth of Pakistanis stashed abroad who are operating accounts in foreign countries without disclosing particulars of their assets and tax payments in Pakistan.

While forming the committee during adjudication of a suo motu notice taken over the issue, Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar on February 15 categorically asked the governor SBP to make sure that the "task" must be carried out without creating panic. He was also asked to inform the court about any grey area, if any, in the law. Submitting a report on Friday, the FBR apprised the court that in pursuance of the court's directives a list of 151 Pakistanis whose whereabouts are not possible to trace has been uploaded on the website of the Board to seek information from citizens of the country.

The FBR submitted that it is facing problems in identifying and contacting certain persons who own offshore companies and whose names were disclosed in the Panama Leaks, the Offshore Leaks and the Paradise Leaks due to unavailability of their complete addresses and particulars. Providing the names and available particulars of such 151 Pakistanis through a CMA, the FBR has requested citizens of Pakistan having any information that can lead to identification and tracing of these persons to discharge their national duty by contacting the Board.

Giving available details of a total of 151 Pakistanis, the FBR assured the general public that identification of the persons providing information would be kept strictly confidential.

According to FBR, they are: A Khan, A Siddiqui, Abdul Qayyum Khan of Islamabad, Abdul Samad, Ajaz Ali of Lahore, Alla Bakhsh Chaudhry of Lahore, Fatima Rizvi of Rawalpindi, Hamidullah of Peshawar, Hassan Ahmed of Lahore, Hendrina Khan of Islamabad, Hussain Zaman of Gujranwala, Imran Ali, Sher Ali, Hussain Ali of Karachi, Javed Ahmed Khan of Lahore, Khaliq Uz Zaman Khan Lodhi of Lahore, Majid Siddique Dawood of Karachi, Mansoor Ahmed Khan of Lahore, Manzur Begum of Islamabad, Maxoud Shah, Mehr E Azam of Karachi, Mian Muhammad Aslam of Lahore, Mian Ziauddin Toor of Rawalpindi, Mirza Masroor Ahmed, Mirza Nasir Inam Ahmad of Rabwah, Mohammad Azam Ali of Islamabad, Mohammed Ali Aslam of Lahore, Muhammad Munir, Muhammad Shaukat of Lahore, Muhammad Shoaib of Karachi, Muhammad Umar Igbal of Pindi Gheb, Mumtaz Khan, Musa Khan of Peshawar, Naveed of Karachi, Naveed Sheikh, Niaz Muhammad of Karachi, Noor Muhammad Ebrahim of Karachi, Parveen Aslam of Lahore, Peter Mediarmid of Karachi, Quratulain Saleem, Raja Allah Dad of Islamabad, Rehana Abbasi, Rukhsana Zuberi, Saad Ali of Lahore, Saad Raja of Islamabad, Saba Obaid of Karachi, Sajada Jamil of Lahore, Samina Durrani of Charsadda, Sayed Bokhari, Shahid Qureshi of Karachi, Shahida Parveen of Islamabad, Shahzad Aziz Malik of Lahore, Shahzad Oureshi of Karachi, Shahzaib Akhtar of Karachi, Shamshad Begum of Karachi, Sharifa Hamid of Lahore, Shaukat Ahmed of Karachi, Shaukat Jahan Ahmed, Shazia Rizvi of Lahore, Sheerin Ali Parukh of Lahore, Sheikh Muhammad Usman Allawala, Sher Ali Khan of

Karachi, Sofia Toor of Rawalpindi, Syed Bashir Ahmed, Syed Muhammad Ali of Lahore, Syed Qasim Ahmed of Lahore, Syed Sohaib Ahmed, Syeda Bushra Begum of Lahore, Syeda Masooma Bokhari, Syeda Sakina Bokhari of Islamabad, Syeda Zheelan Zahid of Karachi, Tanwir Hassan, Umer Aziz of Karachi, Yasmin Muhammad Hanif of Karachi, Younas Zakaria Tabani of Karachi, Abbas Liyakat Ali Dattoo, Abdul Latif Soratia, Abdul Majid Latif Udhi, Abdul Rahman Chaudhry, Abdul Rehman Feroz Malik, Abdul Shakoor Azhar, Afsar Begum, Aftab A Khan, Ali Raza, Altaf Hussain, Ali Rizvi, Balal Yaqub, Dr Tahir Hafeez Toosy, Dr Fouzia Nadeem, Farrukh Iqbal, Fatima Zehra Iqbal, Ghulam Haider, Hussain Sarfraz, Imran Noor, Imran Shaukat Ahmed, Igbal Ismi, Javed Pasha, Javed Salah Muhammad, Khairun/Shabana Balagamwala, Khawar Mahmood, Lilyakat Ali MA Dattoo, MK Aminullah, Mariam Iqbal, Mehreen Akbar, Mian Daud Ansar, Mian Ghulam Asim Shabbir Khokhar, Mohamed Zeeshan Khan, Muhammad Ali Hassan Ali, Muhammad Hanif, Muhammad Suleman, Murtaza Liyakat Ali Dattoo Pardan, Najeeb Rizvi, Najum Hanif, Naseem Ahmed, Nawab Temour, Nisar Ahmed Chaudhry, RD Ahmed, Rashid Anwar, Rashid Bashir, Raza Jafar Ali, Saba Imran, Saleem Sheikh, Saqib Iqbal, Sarwat Askari, Sayed Tawqir Ahmed Subzwari, Shaukat Ali Mian, Syed Ali Naseer Ahmed, Syed Hassan Ali Jaffery, Tahera Vazir Ashraf Ali Vazir, Temoor Ashraf, Urooj Askari, Wajid Hussein, Yasin Nafees, Arif Aziz, Arif Masood Naqvi, Ayesha Khan, Azfran Hasan, Ijaz Rashid, Imran Ali Gokal, Khurshid Ahmed Shaikh, Noreen Ijaz, Saima Rashid, Saleem Mohyud Din, Sheerin Abdullah, Abida Paracha, Jalal Ud Din Ahmed Khan, A Abbasseiy, Nadeem Iqbal Saigol, Asif Riyaz, Salman Tabba, Gul Muhammad Tabba, Javid Salah Mohammad, Ayaz Abbas/S Abbas and Naznin Iqbal.

Copyright Business Recorder, 24/2/2018